MEGA PUNCHED

Miki’s world with reality and dream, or nightmaire

Evaluation / Conceptual project / Video work

I received a feedback from AlanĀ for my video work.
He said that ‘How to be selected. /Beans version’ was a bit long. It was longer before I edited and I had to cut many clips out.
My idea for this video was that I wanted to say Celebrity-world today is so simple that it no longer has a character. To me it’s almost dull and boring.
So I was making the video with something simple(bean) and simple movement(selecting). The movement indicated that of celebrities who are selected to be famous rather than became famous for achieving something.

At the same time I was a bit worried that the video could be too boring to watch for some people. More editing came from the fear.
I probably could have had thought that it was OK to be boring because that was the concept I was putting into it, but I could have also make it shorter. I recorded only once and edited a lot. I was fully relying on editing process and didn’t bother record it again, which I could have.

For my other video work ; ‘I can be a star.’ I was so glad that Alan got my idea clearly by watching it. It was about absurdity and it was my cynical way to describe what celebrity could mean.
First of all I was looking for sound of Ping-pong play. It turned out to be a long quest. All I wanted to do was to have the sound of Ping-pong as background, with my eyes move right and left as if I’m following the movement of a ping-pong ball. The concept is the same as one I did with animal sounds.
I couldn’t find a satisfactory sound of Ping-pong so decided to do animals instead.
I liked to think that people would find it absurd.

Presentation
As I was editing till the last minuet I didn’t really consider how to present. I just burned it onto DVD.
For ‘How to be selected./Beans version’ I’d like it to be seen on a screen by a projector to give it a film-like expression.
For ‘I can be a star.’ I’d like it to be seen on TV sized screen, maybe on a computer.

March 20, 2008 Posted by | Conceptual art, Video work | Leave a comment